Lake Catholic's Plutt, Prpic lead All-Stars

Friday, March 18, 2005
From staff reports

Shaker Heights coach Mike Bartley called Lake Catholic senior J.J. Plutt "one of the league's true snipers this season," after Plutt was a unanimous pick for the Red North Division All-Star team announced by the Greater Cleveland High School Hockey League.

Plutt, Shaker Heights' Jeff Musser and St. Ignatius' Dan McClain were the first-line forwards. Brian Bagby of University School and Jake Coyle of Padua were the first-line defensemen, and Shaker Heights' Alex Antolino was the all-star goalie. The coach of the year was Lake Catholic's Tony Prpic.

In the Red Southwest, the first-line forwards were Strongsville's Mike Lepre, Avon Lake's Kevin Gerrard and North Olmsted's T.J. Murphy. Avon Lake's Carl Neilson and Normandy's Matt Gross were the top defensemen, and the goalie was Matt Fahrenkopf of Rocky River. Trinity's Mark Ferfolia and Strongsville's Gary Jester were co-coaches of the year.

The Red Southeast also named an all-star team, but did not divide members into first and second lines. Among the selections were Mike Turner of Mentor, Jean-Marc Chounet of Benedictine, Jason Kelce of Cleveland Heights, and Benedictine goalie Paul Beckwith.

- Tim Warsinskey

Greater Cleveland High School Hockey League All-Stars


First line: Forwards: J.J. Plutt, Lake Catholic; Jeff Musser, Shaker Heights; Dan McClain, St. Ignatius. Defensemen: Brian Bagby, University School; Jake Coyle, Padua. Goalie: Alex Antolino, Shaker Heights

Second line: Forwards: Matt Feda, Padua; Mark Wilson, St. Edward; Matt Switaj, St. Edward. Defensemen: Brian Reed, Lake Catholic; Joe Carbonaro, St. Edward. Goalie: Bobby Waltzer, Padua.

Third line: Forwards: David Goldsmith, Shaker Heights; Gabe Taxman, US; Jack Ubbing, St. Ignatius. Defensemen: Ted Parran, St. Ignatius; Chris Smith, St. Edward. Goalie: Everett Graves, St. Edward

Fourth line: Forwards: Mike Van, Lake Catholic; Pat Chevallier, Shaker Heights; Aaron Richnavsky, Padua. No defensmen or goalie.

Coach of the Year: Tony Prpic, Lake Catholic


First line: Forwards: Mike Lepre, Strongsville; Kevin Gerrard, Avon Lake; T.J. Murphy, North Olsmted. Defensmen: Carl Neilson, Avon Lake; Matt Gross, Normandy. Goalie: Matt Fahrenkopf, Rocky River

Second line: Forwards: Rich Troph, Trinity; Louis Grandinetti, Normandy; Bobby Ward, Avon Lake. Defensemen: Jeff Danczak, Trinity; Ben O'Dell, Elyria Catholic. Goalie: Ryan Duale, Trinity.

Third line: Forwards: Mike Kasmer, Trinity; T.J. Godlewski, Elyria Catholic; Ryan Thomas, Strongsville. Defensemen: Mike Bonanno, Normandy; Nick Kerwin, Strongsville. Goalie: Evan Jones, Elyria Catholic.

Coaches of the Year: Mark Ferfolia, Trinity; Gary Jester, Strongsville


Forwards: Benedictine: Jean-Marc Chounet, Ryan Barrett; Cleveland Heights: Dan Crowell, Jason Kelce, Paris Murray, Dee Samuel; Hudson: Shane Hoffman, Nate Jones; Mentor: Brady DeMell, James Posipanka, Mike Turner; Western Reserve Academy: Jeff Foote.

Defensemen: Benedictine: Ed Zalar; Hudson: Stefan Kumor, Brendan Lewis; Mentor: Chris Trent, Dan Kelly; WRA: Ernie Pouttu.

Goalies: Benedictine: Paul Beckwith; Mentor: Joe Smeltz; WRA: David Lux.

© 2005 The Plain Dealer
© 2005 cleveland.com All Rights Reserved.